About Us

new blues
old blues
The Militia
old nb light art blues

The Team

The Norfolk City Blues Rugby Football Club was founded in the Spring of 1978 as the result of a merger between the Norfolk Rugby and Norfolk Irish Rugby Clubs. Through the Spring of 2019, the Blues have accumulated a first side 15’s record of 615-232-18.

The NCBRFC has represented the state of Virginia in playoff competition and have had numerous players chosen to State and Regional Select Side teams. The Blues are active in all aspects of Rugby, whether it is 15’s, 10’s, 7’s, Old Boys, Refereeing, or Administration.

The Blues team colors are Blue and Gold, the colors of the City of Norfolk. The Norfolk Blues are named after the Norfolk Light Artillery Blues, a military unit dating back to 1829; their oath of service said they would “…never surrender…”.

The team symbol is the Norfolk Mace, a large, ornamental mace that was crafted in London from pure silver. It was presented to the ‘Borough of Norfolk’ in 1754 by Robert Dinwiddie, lieutenant general of Norfolk from 1751 to 1758 and is still used today for public ceremonies. The Norfolk Blues are a member club of the Capital Rugby Union, the Mid Atlantic Conference, and the USA Rugby Football Union.

The Blues Vision

As a premier Rugby Football Club in the United States of America, the Norfolk City Blues will promote a sustainable brand as a cornerstone of East Coast rugby based on a winning tradition for all ages.

The Norfolk Mace
Blues - 1978


Back Row (L-R): George Boothby, Mike Old, Jeff Sands, Dan Lonergan, Bob Gebron, Rob “Robo” Roberson, Jody Walker, David Chapman, James “Sandy” Sands, Phil Mosser
Front Row: (L-R): Otis Purvis, Mike “Ozzie” Osborne, Dale Carlson, Keith Wright, Curtis Hall

Past Officers President Captain
1978 Sandy Sands Jeff Sands/Otis Purvis
1978-1979 Alex Kalasinsky George Boothby
1979-1980 Alex Kalasinsky/Ben Vanderberry Phil Mosser
1980-1981 Ben Vanderberry Jeff Sands
1981-1982 Ben Vanderberry Otis Purvis
1982-1983 Sandy Sands Otis Purvis
1983-1984 Don Muscacchio Tim Spruill
1984-1985 Jim Booker Dane Cheek
1985-1986 Jim Booker John Ballinger
1986-1987 Tom Donovan John Ballinger/James Painter
1987-1988 Tom Donovan Dan Lonergan
1988-1989 David Chapman James Painter
1989-1990 David Chapman John Ballinger
1990-1991 David Chapman Mike Crabbs
1991-1992 David Chapman Chip Fenn
1992-1993 Mike Crabbs Tim Trivette
1993-1994 Mike Crabbs Tim Trivette
1994-1995 Bill Wilson Doug Moog
1995-1996 David Chapman Keith Wright
1996-1997 David Chapman Darin Darden
1997-1998 Mike Crabbs Keith Wright
1998-1999 Bryan Hankins Keith Wright
1999-2000 Bryan Hankins Darin Darden
2000-2001 Tim Walsh Darin Darden
2001-2002 Tim Walsh Chris Porter
2002-2003 Tim Walsh Chris Porter
2003-2004 Matt Robinette Chris Porter
2004-2005 Matt Robinette Chris Porter
2005-2006 Matt Robinette Chris Porter
2006-2007 Matt Robinette Ed Stockunas
2007-2008 Matt Robinette Fred Wintermantel
2008-2009 Matt Robinette Chris Porter
2009-2010 David Spivey Fred Wintermantel
2010-2011 David Spivey Josh Fogle (Fall), Ed Stockunas (Spring)
2011-2012 David Spivey Ed Stockunas
2012-2013 David Spivey John Leo
2013-2014 Rob Parsons John Leo
2014-2015 Rob Parsons John Leo
2015-2016 Rob Parsons Fred Wintermantel
2016-2017 Rob Parsons Eric Hagen
2017-2018 David Paradiso Eric Hagen
2018-2019 David Paradiso Jake Humphrey
2019-2020 Jimmy Smith Jake Humphrey

Comments are closed.